Help with workflow RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone, I'd like some help with workflows - I'm new to them.  Here's what I have.  Just trying to run a BPA scan of the AD DS model and export the results to a file, for each DC in my domain.  Unfortunately the results are not what I expected.  What I got are a bunch of files (expected) just named Server01 ADDS .csv, Server02 ADDS .csv (unexpected), and the contents of every one of those files are the exact same (unexpected), including the Source and ComputerName attributes.  So that right there was the smoking gun on how I knew this definitely didn't work even though I all of the data that I was (somewhat) expecting.  Here's the code that I have.

$SystemTime = Get-Date -Format yyyy-MM-dd
    $DCs = (Get-ADComputer -Filter * -SearchBase 'OU=Domain Controllers,DC=abc,DC=Com').Name

workflow BPA_WF
    {
        param($Computers)
        foreach –parallel ($Computer in $Computers)
        {
            sequence
            {
                $BPAType = 'ADDS'
                $Results = Invoke-BpaModel -ModelId 'Microsoft/Windows/DirectoryServices' -ComputerName $Computer
                $Results | Get-BpaResult -Filter Noncompliant | Export-Csv -Path ".\InvokeBPAScansLogs\$Computer $BPAType $SystemTime.csv”
            }
        }
    }

and then the command that I use to execute the workflow was:

BPA_WF -Computers $DCs

So a few things here:

1. It seems as though the workflow completely ignored the $SystemTime, is that due to scope?

2. The results (contents) of each file were the exact same, including the Source and ComputerName attributes.  No idea about that one.

Any help is definitely appreciated!

Friday, October 27, 2017 10:01 PM

All replies

• Hi Thomas,

Based on my research, you could have a try to change the order of the code to make the script works properly, for your reference:
    $DCs = (Get-ADComputer -Filter * -SearchBase 'OU=Domain Controllers,DC=abc,DC=com').Name

workflow BPA_WF 
    {