WPF ListBox 'navigation on keypress' when itemsource is an ObservableCollection Class RRS feed

• Question

• Alrighty, go easy on me, I am pretty new to WPF and also to this forum. I should say before I start, the entire project is complete and functional, save this feature.

The goal is to be able to replicate the 'keyboard navigation behaviour' of 'Forms Listbox' in WPF (system.windows.controls.listbox).

In WPF, I found had to bind an ItemSource of type ObservableCollection<string> to the listbox, because its contents change, and WPF does not allow items bound directly to the listbox control to be modified (once bound). Therefore I am updating the Observable collection when needed and this all works fine. What I am getting confused about is how to bind the ItemsControlClass to the observable collection. The ItemsControlClass has a settable boolean istextsearchenabled, which 'seems' to needed to be set against the ObservableCollection to allow is to be searched, but here I am woolly! 

It seems this post solves a pretty similar problem to the one i am trying to solve, again i am not clear on this.

Here is some test code to show the issue, once loaded you will observe that it isn't possible to navigate the listbox from the keyboard. This is the goal. Up, down and by typing the string names.

#region Create Some Test Data

$rootdse = Get-ADRootDSE

[hashtable]$objectAttributes = @{}

$ObjectClasses = ("User","Group")

for ($i=0; $i -le $ObjectClasses.count -1; $i++)
    {
        $t = $ObjectClasses[$i]
        [void]$objectAttributes.add($t,$(Get-ADObject -SearchBase ($rootdse).SchemaNamingContext -Filter {name -like $t} -Properties MayContain,SystemMayContain | Select-Object @{n="Attributes";e={$_.maycontain + $_.systemmaycontain}} | Select-Object -ExpandProperty Attributes))
    }

#endregion

#region WPF xaml

Add-Type -AssemblyName PresentationFramework, System.Drawing, System.Windows.Forms, WindowsFormsIntegration

[xml]$xaml = '<Window