External Contacts and Distribution Lists RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I work in a school and have been asked to create several different distribution lists (surrounding school principals, superintendants ect) all containing external email contacts.  On top of that, it was requested that i set permissions so that only certain people within my facility can see and send to those external distribution lists and contacts.

I know how to create the external contacts in the EMC.  I know how to create and add people to the distribution list in the EMC.  I know about clicking "hide from Exchange address lists".  Can i set permissions on individual contacts and distribution lists for visibility and usage in the GAL?

This is Exchange 2007.

Thanks

Friday, December 7, 2012 3:38 PM

Answers

• For Exchange 2007, Open up the Exchange Management Console, go to Recipients and highlight Mail Contacts.  Add all of your Contacts there.   After creating the contacts, create your Distribution Groups and add the contacts to the relevant groups.  After that, you can make your restrictions.

Restricting who can send to Distribution Group:

• Properties  of the group
    • Mail Flow Settings Tab
    • Message Delivery Resrictions
         Add any users you want to "Only Senders in the following list"
    • To hide the group, check the "Hide Group from Exchange Address lists"

The exact same settings can be set on contacts as well. 

Just be mindful that unless you are an org admin, no one can make changes to the groups even if you manage the group.

You don't have to hide the group or contact as no one will be able to send it it. If you do hide them, then the user sending the email will have to know the name of the group and or contact they are emailing.

JAUCG - Please remeber to mark replies as helpful if they were or as answered if I provided a solution.

• Proposed as answer by emma.yoyo Tuesday, December 11, 2012 7:19 AM