Some advice/suggestion on Management Pack architecture RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I want help regarding the architecture of management pack (I am very new to this field) and how to do some improvements in my custom developed MP.

Scenario: I have developed management pack (totally script based) which works on XML polling from a cache file (which updates by MP @10 minute interval). So everything from the server hierarchy (to be populated in Diagram View) to alerts (faults in my case) are polled from the cache file itself. Now discovery part is great but gathering faults (alerts) is done by Rules and not monitors as I am fetching faults definition from external source and populating in SCOM.

Again, there are 6 severity levels in my case but I have to map it to three to be displayed in SCOM so in rule severity level I have this definition:

<WriteActions> <WriteAction ID="GenerateAlert" TypeID="$Reference/Health$System.Health.GenerateAlert"> <Priority>1</Priority> <Severity>$Data/Property[@Name='Severity']$</Severity>

This is doing great in SCOM and everything goes smooth. Also in the override wizard I get severity like this:

Problem:

1) Overriding Severity: Most of the case people want to override the severity of a particular alert (done by all other MP). But in my case as a particular Rule fetches all alert of a particular component (class) having 6 different severity levels so If I override this rule then all the faults goes to the override category, which is a false message. I am not sure how to disable severity.

I am looking a better way to implement this.

(In other MPs I have found that every definition is in MP and one thing is related to one thing only like one rule/monitor has one kind of alert so if someone want to override it, they can do with no difficulty.)