Sharepoint Migration RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Sharepoint Experts,

I'm looking for documents about moving Sharepoint Farm from one (state) physical location to another location (state). We have SP 2010 dev and prod farms, and all servers are VMs. These SP farms support all users from different sites (states in US). We have Virtual Center environment for all sites, so moving these servers should be easier. I've been googling step-by-step process but unsuccessful. I know every environmnet is different but I'm looking for ideas or something that would help me to at least start the process. I'm still new to SharePoint so any suggesstions will be helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Mr. Hubble

Tuesday, February 5, 2013 6:50 PM

Answers

• Are the different locations all in the same domain? Is the storage part of the VMs or are they referencing SAN or other external storage?

Assuming same domain and not external storage, As long as you move all of the servers (VMs) in the farm as a whole, there is more or less not much to it. Shut them down and copy the VMs to the new location.

If necessary, update IP addresses and DNS.

Jason Warren
    Infrastructure Architect

Tuesday, February 5, 2013 8:09 PM
  • Cloning SharePoint VMs is not supported so it's not an option.

That they are in the same forest is good, with a two-way trust it doesn't matter which domain the servers are users are in, provided the Active Directory environment is healthy and can support the location of the servers whereever they are.

If this is not possible for you, then you're likely looking at a database migration or a full farm backup and restore to a new farm in the new location. There are also third party tools that could migrate the data to a new farm.

Jason Warren
    Infrastructure Architect

Wednesday, February 6, 2013 6:28 PM

All replies

• Are the different locations all in the same domain? Is the storage part of the VMs or are they referencing SAN or other external storage?