none
showing the definition field in powershell windows RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am a newbie in Poweshell. I watched some video  tutorials and now I'm trying to begin some work in PS. My first problem is that I can't see the definition field in my Powershell window.

for example:

in the tutorial it is showing like this:

PS C:\> get-command -Name *..*

CommandType   Name    Definiton

in my Powershell window I have:

PS C:\> get-command -Name *..*

CommandType   Name    ModuleName

As you can see, I have the ModuleName field instead of Definition filed. This is just an example because this field is never showed.

Please tell me what I need to do. 

Thank you.

Monday, May 12, 2014 7:54 AM

Answers

All replies

• Are you looking something like this?

Get-Command * | Select Name , Module , Definition

Regards Chen V [MCTS SharePoint 2010]

Monday, May 12, 2014 8:03 AM
  • This will be in readable format

Get-Command Get-Service | Select -Property Name , Module , Definition | fl

Regards Chen V [MCTS SharePoint 2010]

Monday, May 12, 2014 8:05 AM
  • thanks, but I need something to be permanent, because I need to see the definition field anytime I run the get-command action like in the tutorials..

it is possible to do something like that:

PS C:\> Get-Command Notepad -All | Format-Table CommandType, Name, Definition CommandType Name Definition ------------------------- Application notepad.exe C:\WINDOWS\system32\notepad.exe Application NOTEPAD.EXE C:\WINDOWS\NOTEPAD.EXE

and then to save this line "Format-Table CommandType, Name, Definition" to a profile file?

• Edited by reddyBo Monday, May 12, 2014 8:33 AM
    Monday, May 12, 2014 8:30 AM
  • Hi Reddy,

where there is a will, there is a way. It's bad practice (and by the heavens, please get rid of this solution once you're done with those tutorials!) but you can overwrite the Get-Command cmdlet with a function.

You edit your profile by calling
    notepad $profile