Using second wireless network for client Hyper-V VMs RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I have a question concerning client Hyper-V on Win8.1 Pro Preview and wirelessly connecting only the VMs. I'm a student at a university and the university wired Ethernet network only allows 2 devices to be registered per student. So for me, those 2 would be the host OS and my Xbox, which leaves no room for any of my VMs. I need a way to connect my VMs to the wireless network (which has no such limitations) mostly for programming assignments using Linux.

I'm thinking of buying a wireless NIC for my desktop and using that as a second external switch that the VMs will use for connectivity. The host will use the first external switch that currently exists. However, I'm not sure how I can keep the host on the wired LAN while also installing a wireless NIC only for the VMs. Do I install the NIC, make it an external switch without host access, then join the network? Or do I join the network first then set it up as a virtual switch? Can client versions of Windows handle multiple simultaneous NICs?

Also, would the host even need an external switch in this case? I have one since I set up the VMs at home where all machines can use the wired NIC.

Friday, September 6, 2013 3:37 AM

Answers

• That's a bit tricky with Hyper-V.  I should say before I list out the steps to get a NAT-like solution to your problem that Oracle Virtual Box has NAT support that would do the job your looking for quite easily, in fact the situation you described is its default network setting.  Virtual Box is free and supports Linux guest OSs so, unless you are practicing using Hyper-V, I would suggest using that.

To make a NAT-like network using Hyper-V first create an internal virtual switch with your Wireless NIC.  In the Actions pane of Hyper-V Manager click on Virtual Switch Manager.  Select New Virtual Switch and make sure the connection type is set to internal.