none
Windows 8 - Hosting Easy Assist Sessions

Question

• Hi there

I have seen some previous posts on this subject but want to be absolutely clear as this is a significant issue!

I have been running Windows 8 on my workstation now for several months and although I couldn't request support using Intune "Remote Assistance is not supported on this version of Windows" up until last week I could always respond to a support request made by one of my clients.

This morning I attempted to respond to a clients request for support and I saw "Remote Assistance is not supported on this version of Windows" within the Windows Intune Console. I have never seen this before!

Is this correct?

If so when will it be resolved as I have half a dozen or so clients who have all bought into Intune so that we can assist them (I often use this feature several times a day).

If it is not going to be resolved then this will keep most of your cloud partners from using Windows 8 which leads to other issues in relation to learning Win 8, developing Win 8 RT applications etc. and prevent most of our Intune Clients from moving off Win 7

Some good news please.

Martyn Fewtrell
    martynfewtrell@tncit.co.uk

Martyn Fewtrell TNC (IT Solutions) Ltd Email: mfewtrell@tncit.co.uk Web: http://www.tncit.co.uk

Monday, February 25, 2013 2:31 PM

Answers

• Hi Martyn,

Your account was likely upgraded to our latest release last week, which includes some changes for users on Windows 8. We made some changes to ensure the best experience when supporting customers.  To ensure the best experience on Windows 8 it was necessary to disable support for providing and receiving remote assistance.  This is a feature we want to implement in a future release as we know how valuable it is.

We appreciate your feedback.

Thanks,

Jon L. - MSFT
    • Marked as answer by mfewtrell Monday, February 25, 2013 4:16 PM
    Monday, February 25, 2013 4:05 PM

All replies

• Hi Martyn,