including the folders and files to create an exe using powershell script. RRS feed

• General discussion

• HI Team,

I am very new to power shell script. Can any body help with creating an .exe using power shell script. My requirement is we will import the files and folders using power shell script and In scripting we need to write imported files and folders should copy to another locations. The entire scripting  should be create as .exe so that when will install the .exe in another system the same folders and files will copy as what written in script

• Changed type Bill_Stewart Tuesday, February 2, 2016 3:08 PM
    Thursday, January 28, 2016 11:02 AM

All replies

• Hi,

just so I get it right:

You want to have an .exe File, that when executed will run a PowerShell script?

In that case, use Sapien PowerShell Studio. Best PowerShell editing tool out there and it can compile all scripts into .exe files. It also allows you to create GUIs easily.

Cheers,
    Fred

There's no place like 127.0.0.1

Thursday, January 28, 2016 11:09 AM
  • If you don't want to pay for PowerShell Studio (you should consider it, I hear it's great), I believe PowerGUI can still do this as well.

Thursday, January 28, 2016 1:48 PM
  • If you don't want to pay for PowerShell Studio (you should consider it, I hear it's great), I believe PowerGUI can still do this as well.

Hey Mike,

it's not just great - it's awesome! It also comes with a 45 day free trial*, so why don't you check it out yourself, no need to rely on hearsay in this ;)

That said, PowerGUI can assembly scripts as executables as well, though it's nowhere near as powerful in many other aspects (say ... GUI). Also, while probably not of much concern in this case, packaged scripts by PowerGUI can be opened by 7zip and read, while the PowerShell Studio version is obfuscated and can't be read as easily.

Cheers,
    Fred

*Note: Executables built with the trial version will after some time stop to work, as it is a trial.