VM hangs continually RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I have a HP DL 180 G6 server with 12Gb RAM. I am running Win 2008 R2 and Sql Server 2008. I have installed two VM on the server. They run Win Xp. The problem is that the VMs hang every four hours are so. Connected to the VM are 9 L300 N Computing devices running the vSpace software.  I am not sure where the problems lies, kindly help me out as I am very new to Windows, having worked in Linux for long.

Any help is appreciated

Regards, 

regalian1

Wednesday, October 6, 2010 7:47 PM

Answers

• From your symptoms, I would first look at the settings of the physical NICs (any and all) of the Hyper-V server.

See if Power Management is turned on (the NIC will be put to sleep) and if it is, turn it off.

I am guessing this since you describe that it affects both VMs (I am assuming at or near the same time).

Brian Ehlert (hopefully you have found this useful) http://ITProctology.blogspot.com
    • Marked as answer by Vincent Hu Monday, October 11, 2010 6:34 AM
    Thursday, October 7, 2010 1:27 PM

All replies

• This installation catches me as a bit complex so; If I understand this properly..

You have a single physical Server.  On it you have Server 2008 R2 installed, and you installed SQL 2008.

You added the Hyper-V role.

You also have two VMs and the VMs have some type of device they are associated with (sorry, I am not familiar with the NComputing device nor the vSpace software).

You claim that the VMs "hang" - by hanging I am guessing that they stop responding to something?  Or an application hangs within them?  I don't know.

Have you checked the OS in the VM to see if there is something spiking the processor or otherwise causing the unresponsiveness?

Is there high disk IO during the hang?  Is the SQL server instance installed in the parent parition doing something during the hang?