Renaming 400 files in a folder based on creation date Help RRS feed

• General discussion

• I am New to Powershell, and the comandlets I have found are helpful to a point. I have had success with partial renaming using the following script:

dir | rename-item -newname {$_.name -replace "Old Mailing", "Company Name"}

With the result of having all my files successfully renamed to "Company Name Blah Blah Blah"

My problem is I do not know enough about Powershell to get a little more complicated with the naming.  My Ultimate Goal is for all Files to have the Following Naming convention:

All Files are PDF and currently all files in a folder are for the same dept.

<Company Name> <YYYYMMDD created> <static department code>

Example: ABC KING 20180405A 1149.pdf

I am willing to do some research if I can get pointed in the right direction.  I just do not understand how to string all the changes together, and how to include an optional modifier for files created on the same date.  

I also found a comandlet about setting the name to the create date, but I cannot refind it and did not write it down. Nor do I understand if it is possible to have a static start and end, but Variable middle part of the name. 

Open to running three seperate renaming scripts, but I do not know how I would go about Adding "Company Name" to front after all creation dates are set, then one to add the "department numbers" at the End.

Is what I want to do even possible?

Thursday, April 5, 2018 5:55 PM

All replies

• https://ss64.com/ps/

dir -> pull creation date -> pull company name -> assign department code -> format date -> rename company name date dep code -> reiterate 

Thursday, April 5, 2018 6:03 PM
  • Start by going through a basic tutorial on PowerShell.  You cannot guess your way through this.

Learn PowerShell  

\_(ツ)_/

Thursday, April 5, 2018 6:22 PM
  • Start by going through a basic tutorial on PowerShell.  You cannot guess your way through this.

Learn PowerShell  

\_(ツ)_/