none
Sharepoint 2016 - Claim Authentication error event ID 8306

Question

• hi i am a fairly new SharePoint admin who took over an on premise single server SharePoint 2016 farm running on server 2012 r2 datacenter. the event viewer is flooded with claims authentication errors event ID 8306 An exception occurred when trying to issue security token ID3242: the security token could not be authenticated or authorized. Everything is working on the farm even with all the errors. i checked the logs and found the following "The X.509 certificate CN=SharePoint Security Token Service, OU=SharePoint, O=Microsoft, C=US is not in the trusted people store." i launched MMC with the certificates snap-in and the SharePoint Security Token Service certificate is in the SharePoint store not the Trusted People as the error specifies. Can i just copy and paste the certificate from SharePoint to Trusted People or is there a proper way to place a certificate in the correct store? also, can a certificate reside in two stores? i really do not have any experience with certificates. any help would be appreciated...thank you
    Wednesday, December 20, 2017 6:14 PM

All replies

• Hi ian6868,

To troubleshoot the issue, check things below:

1. Check if the STS Web Service page can be browsed.

Go to IIS Manager -> Sites -> SharePoint WebServices -> SecurityTokenServiceApplication, click on 'Content View' down at the bottom, right click on Securitytoken.svc and click Browse.

2. Check if the application pool “SecureTokenServiceApplicationPool” is started in IIS manager.

3. Check if you have added certificates to trusted certificates list in central administration. If not, you could export the root of the certificate chain (the root certificateauthorities certificate), then copy it to the Central Admin server and import it into Central Administration’s Trust Relationships store.