How to Write Installers for App-V RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, I don't know much about App-V so please excuse my question if it seems that the answer is obvious.  I am an InstallShield developer and would like to know if you need to do anything special to write installers for applications to run in an App-V environment?  Of course Installshield would love to sell me their Virtualization Pack for InstallShield 2010 which includes support for App-V and has a wizard for developing installers for App-V.  I am not sure whether or not I actually need this virtualization pack in order to be able to author installers for the App-V environment?  Any help would be appreciated!

Tim
    Saturday, June 20, 2009 8:10 PM

Answers

• Thanks for the feedback Znack.  I do appreciate it as the cost of the Virtualization Package is not cheap for a small independent developer like me.

Take care,

Tim
    • Marked as answer by TimStspry Sunday, June 21, 2009 12:32 AM
    Sunday, June 21, 2009 12:32 AM

All replies

• Thanks for the feedback Znack.  I do appreciate it as the cost of the Virtualization Package is not cheap for a small independent developer like me.

Take care,

Tim
    • Marked as answer by TimStspry Sunday, June 21, 2009 12:32 AM
    Sunday, June 21, 2009 12:32 AM
  • Hello again,

This might actually suite you fairly good;
    http://www.gridmetric.com/products/libv.html

/znack
    Sunday, June 21, 2009 12:58 PM
  • Tim,

Let me first clear out some terminology related confusion here ;-) As I understand from your post, you want to author an virtual application package instead/addition to doing MSI installer for your own application, right?