none
Creating AD Groups from CSV import in powershell RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Guys

This seems like the sort of thing that *should be easy, but i am having no luck at all. I should say I am a scripting newb. :)

I have a CSV file with a few fields, groupname, grouptype, grouplocation

the only one i really need is the name, as they will all be security groups and live in the same OU. 

i've tried a hundred variations of the same thing, and cant get anything but errors. I know it's something simple i'm doing wrong, maybe someone can help?

import-module activedirectory
    $groups = import-csv H:\!scripts\AAAgroups.csv
    foreach ($group in $groups) {
    new-adgroup -name $groups.GroupName -GroupCategory Security -GroupScope global -Path $Groups.GroupLocation
    }

That gives me 

'New-ADGroup : Cannot convert 'System.Object[]' to the type 'System.String' required by parameter 'Name'. Specified method is not supported.'

So i tried wrapping some quotes around the variables in the new-adgroup command

new-adgroup -name "$groups.GroupName" -GroupCategory Security -GroupScope global -Path "$Groups.GroupLocation"

which gives me "new-adgroup : The object name has bad syntax", i assume because it's trying to use "$groups.groupname" as the name.

so i need to get my groupname into a string, without quotes. so i tried this

import-module activedirectory
    $groups = import-csv H:\!scripts\AAAgroups.csv
    $name = out-string -inputobject $groups.GroupName
    $OU = out-string -inputobject $groups.grouplocation
    foreach ($group in $groups) {
    new-adgroup -name $name -GroupCategory Security -GroupScope global -Path $OU
    }

same thing, bad syntax. So i added quotes around all sorts of things and nothing wants to work. If I run this, then type $name (or $groups.name) - sure enough, i get my list of names. same thing with $ou. I just cant get them to plug into the new-adgroup cmdlet.