Ping machines in a text file RRS feed

• Question

• I have a text file list of computers I want to ping with Powershell.   The file name is "list.txt".   How can I ping each name in the list, one at a time, and output the results either to the screen or output it to another text file?  Can I just output "pass" or "fail" to the text file?   I  need examples because I am very new to this.  Thanks.
    Tuesday, February 19, 2019 8:34 PM

Answers

• get-content hosts.txt | test-netconnection

• Marked as answer by Paratus Wednesday, February 20, 2019 10:37 AM
    Wednesday, February 20, 2019 8:07 AM

All replies

• Please post your script.  If you are asking for someone to write a script then post here: Forum for Script requests

You can also easily search for scripts that do what you ask.

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, February 19, 2019 8:51 PM
  • Please post your script.  If you are asking for someone to write a script then post here: Forum for Script requests

You can also easily search for scripts that do what you ask.

\_(ツ)_/

In Windows command line it is:    FOR /F %%I in (list.txt) DO (ping %%I -n 2)     or     FOR /F %%I in (list.txt) do (ping %%I -n2 >>results.txt)    but I need it in Powershell so I can substitute "ping" with a different Powershell  command.

Tuesday, February 19, 2019 8:59 PM
  • "ping" works in PowerShell.

also:

help test-connection -online

\_(ツ)_/

Tuesday, February 19, 2019 9:08 PM
  • Search the web for something like "powershell ping systems using file". You'll find many examples like this one:

https://gallery.technet.microsoft.com/scriptcenter/Ping-Multiple-Servers-ba915a7c

--- Rich Matheisen MCSE&I, Exchange Ex-MVP (16 years)

Tuesday, February 19, 2019 9:12 PM