IIS 6.0 SMTP Virtual Server Outbound relaying RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am very new to SMTP and setting up the SMTP Virtual server. I hope this is the correct forum for the Virtual Server. I have following various configurations listed in TechNet. I have a Virtual Server that is working but it seems to working incorrectly. I will explain my how my server is configured.

The SMTP is configured to accept SMTP from specific IPs listed under Access>Relay. The configuration under Access>Connection is set for "all except list below"

I have set authentication to "Basic Authentication".

I have nto configured any remote domains.

With this setup, I am able to send SMTP messages to the relay and the relay sends the message out to the remote Mail Servers. But when I look at the logs, it is sending it to the destination's Mail Server and not the sender's mail server. When I attempt to send a message to the same domain as the sender, it does not send it out.

My understanding is that the SMTP Relay function is suppose to send the mail to the sender's Mail Server then that Mail server will continue to send the message to its final destination.

Please any help is greatly appreciated. Please let me know if you require more information or if my understanding of a SMTP Relay is wrong.

Thanks

• Moved by Zi Feng Monday, May 6, 2013 6:49 AM
    Friday, May 3, 2013 8:09 PM

Answers

• On Fri, 3 May 2013 20:09:19 +0000, adurf wrote:

>I am very new to SMTP and setting up the SMTP Virtual server. I hope this is the correct forum for the Virtual Server.

It isn't the correct forum. You should probably be posting your
    question in a forum for your O/S or IIS.

>I have following various configurations listed in TechNet. I have a Virtual Server that is working but it seems to working incorrectly. I will explain my how my server is configured.
    >