Applying AddressBookPolicy to a Database RRS feed

• Question

• We have 3 seperate Organisations going through our Exchange 2010 (all on the same site) and have been looking into creating seperate GAL for each.  With the recent upgrade to SP2 we've decided to implement AddressBookPolicies (ABP) for each Database and assigning the newly created GALs through there.

I'm fairly new to PowerShell but feel I'm picking it up pretty quickly.  I followed the info from the Technet Article to create the GAL as below;

New-GlobalAddressList -Name "GAL_???" -IncludedRecipients MailboxUsers -ConditionalCompany *CompanyName*

I then created an ABP to give out this GAL and assigned that ABP to the corresponding Mailboxes in the Database using;

Get-Mailbox -Database "DatabaseName" | Set-Mailbox -AddressBookPolicy "ABPName"

What I'm now unsure of is let's say I create another User/Mailbox (with the same CompanyName details) into that Database will they automatically be added to the GAL and Assigned the ABP?  If not then any suggestions on how to do this automatically?

Another point; I'd like to include our Tech support in all of the GALs though apparently this isn't possible.  Any alternative or is an AddressList the only option?

Sorry if I've given a bit too much information but never quite know how much these things need!

Killian

• Edited by Mr Killian Friday, February 17, 2012 2:58 PM
    Friday, February 17, 2012 2:33 PM

Answers

• 1 - No. You have to set this when you create the mailbox - the options I described above.  You could run the set-mailbox afterwards but why duplicate effort :) 

2 - Yes. 

• Marked as answer by Mr Killian Friday, February 17, 2012 7:54 PM
    Friday, February 17, 2012 4:57 PM

All replies

• Hi Killian

You can specify the ABP either as part of the EMS command using the -AddressBookPolicy <AddressBookMailboxPolicyIdParameter> option or in the EMC there is a dropdown to select the appropriate address list.