none
Cannot Join Server 2016 R2 Hyper-V to Windows 2003 Domain

Question

• Hi,

FYI: I'm trying to do this task on my at-home network which only has 5 physical machines (and soon any VM's that I create); so I am a domain admin and I have full control over everything...

I'm having trouble joining a new (non-headed) 2016 Server R2 Hyper-V to an existing 2003 domain.  I can ping both the 2003 DC machine and the domain name.  There are a few other machines already joined to the domain so I don't think the problem is with the DC.  attempts to add the machine to the domain result in "Failed to join domain".  The message is nicely worded but as far as a diagnostic message it is completely USELESS!!  So I have a few questions:

1. Can a 2016 Server even join a domain that was created/is hosted by a 2003 server DC? 
    2. If so then might there be a better diagnostic somewhere in the event log?  If so does anybody know where in the event log I should look; the 2016 server event log has @100 sections - I'm guessing "Admin"?
    3. If I resolve this issue is there a "best practice" for using the Hyper-V server itself or a VM as a domain controller so that I can retire my 2003 server?

Thanx in advance for your help!

--Richard

mooseandpebs

Friday, January 6, 2017 2:44 AM

All replies

• 1. Nope

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-server-docs/identity/ad-ds/windows-server-2016-functional-levels

Don [doesn't work for MSFT, and they're probably glad about that ;]

Friday, January 6, 2017 3:40 AM
  • 2. netsetup.log is where domjoin activity is recorded

Don [doesn't work for MSFT, and they're probably glad about that ;]

Friday, January 6, 2017 3:42 AM
  • Hi,

I am checking how the issue going, if you still have any questions, please feel free to contact us.