can't install any 3rd party software on windows 7 RRS feed

• Question

• I have Windows 7 installed (64bit) on a Toshiba Satellitie with not very much special software added, however in the last few weeks I haven't been able to run any installers.

That means from downloads (such as SkyPlayer), DVD (Football Manger), and updates to already-installer programs (Picassa).

Downloading anything and running (I'm an admin user but also by selecting "Run as Admin") the installer or letting it run automatically seems to start the installer up (it'll unpack the MSI for example) but then everything stops.

I can't open the task manager at that point and often can't even open any programs up - the CPU is running at 0% but memory is variable (I saw 46% whil trying to run the Picassa update last night). Eventually nothing is responding whatsoever (including the start menu) and I have to switch off manually and then restart in safe-mode to shut down properly.

I'm wondering if there's been a Windows7 update which might have messed around with my UAC (although its turned off) or priviledges or something. Also wondered whether its a graphics driver issue and actually installers are running and just not being displayed but I suspect not.

I'd really rather not have to roll the machine back or reinstall my OS so any ideas on how to solve this would be brilliant.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010 7:32 AM

Answers

• Hi gumbootroo,

Please check if the installer runs in Clean Boot to check the issue. If the issue disappears in the Clean Boot environment, you can continue to narrow down which entry is causing the issue.

If the issue persists, it is possible certain system file is corrupted. Please run System File Checker by referring to this knowledge base (KB) article to check the issue: How to use the System File Checker tool to troubleshoot missing or corrupted system files on Windows Vista or on Windows 7

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Linda