ExFAT volume keeps getting "dirty" daily RRS feed

• Question

• Hello - 

I am a video editor, but work on a PC (a heresy in the industry) and am always on the search for more interoperability between PCs and Macs, especially when it comes to filesystems.  I thought that I had found a saving grace when I found the ExFAT system last year.  I tested it out for a while, and then feeling comfortable with it after a while, formatted a 6TB drive (G-Tech G-RAID) with the system and loaded a project onto it.

I've been editing on it for almost 6 months, and have increasingly been experiencing a "dirty" volume that I need to run chkdsk /f to resolve.  At first, it happened (due to an unexpected shutdown) and I fixed it and it didn't come back for a few months.  However, over the last month I have had my drive lapse into the read-only "dirty" state on what's now a daily basis.  I will chkdsk and it's fine... for a while.  Many times until I restart my computer.

Whenever I run chkdsk it finds corruption in a set of .CHK files in hidden folders called FOUND.001, FOUND.002, etc, which as I understand are the raw data from files that prior iterations of chkdsk found corrupted and fixed.  Everytime I run chkdsk it finds corruption in the most recent batch .CHK files in the highest-numbered FOUND folder (I'm up to FOUND.010 now) and then moves a new set of files to a new folder, increasing in number.  I've tried to delete these files, and are able to delete every setexcept the most recent one, because they are corrupted.

I am wondering two things

- How can I delete these files to be done with them forever, and ostensibly prevent the drive from becoming "dirty" again?
    - Is this posing any huge threat to my data?  Am I teetering on the brink of drive failure?

Please help!

Ryan
    Friday, March 30, 2012 3:02 PM

All replies

• You can try this program called unlocker

http://www.filehippo.com/download_unlocker/