WSUS Syncronizing Declined Updates - sometimes RRS feed

• Question

• I have a master WSUS 3.0 SP2 (3.2.7600.256) Server set to "Store update files locally on this server" and a check next to "Download update files to this server only when updates are approved". The server currently has 51 Unapproved Updates, 6181 Approved Updates, 3032 Declined Updates, 11027 Computer, and 6 Computer Group. The server also has 10 downstream servers all with the same settings and same numbers of updates. The servers are all tied to SCCM 2012 R2 and working perfectly in that regard. The main WSUS server uses a remote SQL cluster for its DB, while the downstream servers use Windows Internal DB. All f the servers in question are running Windows 2008 R2 Server.

On the downstream servers I have nightly maintenance scripts that Kick off SCW, re-index local DB, and Delete Declined updates. On the master WSUS server the scripts only run the SCW and the DB is setup to preform a nightly re-index at the SQL level, but I do not delete declined updates from the master WSUS server.

The problem I seem to be having is that about once every 2 weeks the downstream servers synchronize ALL of the declined updates again and the scripts will then be needed to clean them back up. I am wondering what is happening that could possibly be forcing the servers to re-download updates that are declined even though I have them configured to ignore this category entirely?

Portland Public Schools / Systems Administrator II

• Edited by Adam Seitz Thursday, September 25, 2014 5:26 PM
    Thursday, September 25, 2014 5:19 PM

All replies

• Hi Adam,

Are the downstream servers in replica mode? A WSUS server running in replica mode inherits the update approvals and computer groups created on its parent WSUS administration server.

Besides, could you post the SoftwareDistribution.log and Change.log here? It may give some hints.

Best Regards.

Steven Lee

TechNet Community Support