DSC problem with Adobe Reader RRS feed

• Question

• I'm currently in the process of sequencing a large amount of apps for a client and as I'm relatively new to App-V, it's pretty much learning-as-I-go.

And now I ran into a challenge: we succesfully sequenced Adobe Reader 10.1 and it is working fine with opening PDF's on the local (or network) filesystem or from local applications (like IE or Office 2010). However, there is a 3rd party application (sequenced separately) that wants to launch a PDF from it's own bubble (e.g. c:\folder\filename.pdf, a virtualized location outside its installation folder) when accessing a certain part of the Help system. Adobe Reader wil launch, but will produce an error that the file cannot be found.

So far this looks logical to me: as each app has it's own bubble to work from, Adobe Reader should not be able to access the pdf file. However, someone told me I could use dynamic suite composition to get around this problem. So I used the DSC tool to add the Adobe Reader as a secondary package to the 3rd party app (being the primary) and after saving, the OSD file reflects the new sitiuation (the codebase part of Adobe Reader is added under <dependencies>).

But it is not working as I hoped (and yes, I refreshed the client). If I use procmon, I can see sfttray launching adobe reader with the correct path (c:\folder\filename.pdf) but Adobe Reader gets a "PATH NOT FOUND" result.

So the question is: does Adobe Reader not have access to the bubble of the other application? Or do I need to configure more that just adding the dependency (using the DSC tool)? I tried searching for a good explanation to what DSC can and cannot do, but haven't yet found satisfying documentation on this.

If there is no workable solution for this with Adobe Reader as App-V package, we will go ahead and do an SCCM rollout of it, but that's a last resort really.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Monday, August 1, 2011 12:18 PM

Answers