General Question about Applying HotFix Rollup For Forefront Protection for Exch 2010 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello- I'm new to Exchange. We are running Forefront version 11.0.677.0 which I've been told I should apply HotFix Rollup 4 in hopes it may take care of an issue we are having.

Does the HotFix Rollup 4 include the fixes from HotFix Rollup 1, 2, 3? I think it does, but an outside engineer who sometimes helps us with Exchange says he recommends installing all of them Hotfix 1, 2, 3, 4.

I'd like to hear anyone elses opinion on this?

Besides the obvious (having a backup, etc.) is there anything else beyond simply clicking on the hotpatch executable that I need to be aware of? My assumption is I should also stop the Microsoft Forefront services before I run the hotfix? Do I need to stop any Exchange services...or anything else?

Thank you.

Lori Binner

Wednesday, August 29, 2012 4:19 PM

Answers

• Hi Lori,

This is as Nick states. The roll up is cummulative and includes all fixes for 1, 2 & 3. You only need to install RU4.

With regards to stopping services, this is handled automatically by the rollup installer, but i would recommend you plan for a possible loss of service while the rollup is being installed. Whether services need to be stopped or not, depends on the role of the server and can also depend on the current state of processes at time of install. To be safe, I always recommend customers to plan for services to be stopped (and possibly a restart could be required).

p.s. this is general advice and applies to all MS hotfixes/service packs.

I hope this helps,

Alex

Alex

• Marked as answer by LAB88 Thursday, August 30, 2012 4:11 PM
    Thursday, August 30, 2012 1:25 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Thank you for the post.

“Does the HotFix Rollup 4 include the fixes from HotFix Rollup 1, 2, 3?” - Yes, all the rollups are cumulative.