none
Bad install of 2016 CU 11, trying to remove Exchange and start over RRS feed

• Question

• The install of Exchange 2016 (purely for on-prem management as we are fully hosted O365) in my sandbox worked flawlessly. The production run errored at the end of the install and just doesn't work right (can only see 1 user etc, where the sandbox could see everyone). 

After much troubleshooting I decided to remove Exch 2016 but no matter what I do, I cannot get rid of the "This mailbox database contains one or more mailboxes, mailbox plans" message. I have tried the following and no combination of these will get me past this error. Can anyone give me any guidance? I'm a senior engineer with 20+ years MS experience (starting with NT3.51) but am NOT an Exchange guy. I feel I have such a borked situation I may have to open a case with MS, but would prefer not to if I can find the solution.

Commands tried but still get the message stated above:

Disable-Mailbox "Mailbox Database xxxxxxxxxxx" -Archive (also PublicFolder, AuditLog (bad command, not recognized), Arbitration) 

Disable-Mailbox "Mailbox Database xxxxxxxxxx" -Arbitration -DisableLastArbitrationMailboxAllowed

Get-Mailbox  -Monitoring | Disable-Mailbox

Get-ClientAccessServer | Set-ClientAccessServer -AutoDiscoverServiceInternalUri $Null

Remove-HybridConfiguration

Get-Mailbox -Arbitration -Database "Mailbox Database xxxxxxxxxx" | Remove-Mailbox -Arbitration –RemoveLastArbitrationMailboxAllowed

Remove-OfflineAddressBook "Default Offline Address Book"

Remove-MailboxDatabase "Mailbox Database xxxxxxxxxx" -Verbose

Tuesday, February 12, 2019 1:55 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Please share result of below:-

Get-mailbox -database "Mailbox Database xxxxxxxxxx"

get-mailbox -archive -database "Mailbox Database xxxxxxxxxx"

get-mailbox -publicfolder -database "Mailbox Database xxxxxxxxxx"

get-mailbox -arbitration