Little help with a script RRS feed

• Question

• I'm hoping that you guys can give me a little bit of help with a script that i'm trying to write, i'm a beginner when it comes to scripting so you're help it's greatly appreciated. The purpose of the script below is to through to a list of different DNS domain names and search for certain criteria and then display on the screen or file for me, the problem that I'm running into is that I don't know how to display or write to file the variable $dnszone to the screen so that when I get the output for hostnames I can tell from which DNS zone it came from.

Here is the script thus far

$dnszones = Get-Content "C:\all_dnz_zones.txt"
    $IPv4Address = "10.10.*"
    foreach ($dnszone in $dnszones) {Get-DnsServerResourceRecord -ZoneName $dnszone -ComputerName htxdc01 | Where-Object {$_.RecordData.IPv4Address -like $IPv4Address}}

This is the output that I see write now, i'm missing the $dnszone names :(

Sunday, May 24, 2015 7:19 PM

Answers

• Sorry - there is a typo.

It must belike this.

$dnszones = Get-Content C:\all_dnz_zones.txt
    foreach($dnszone in $dnszones){
        Get-DnsServerResourceRecord -ZoneName $dnszone -ComputerName htxdc01 | 
           Where-Object{ 
                $_.RecordData.IPv4Address -match '^10\.10\.'
        } |
        select *, @{N='DNSZone';E={$dnszone}}
    }

Do not attempt to change theformatting until you understand.

\_(ツ)_/

• Marked as answer by Delmiroc Monday, May 25, 2015 3:13 PM
    Monday, May 25, 2015 5:50 AM

All replies

• Hello guys,