locked
Email notifications always sent from Tasks list - even when disabled RRS feed

  • Question

  • I have a moss 2007 farm, and on one Tasks list, the default 'item has been assigned to you' email is sent, even though I have set "Send e-mail when ownership is assigned?" has been set to "no" via the list Advanced Settings.

    I've switched it's value back and forth several times and it still always sends the messages.

    The list uses a couple of custom content types, in the event that matters.

    Thanks

    -John

    Wednesday, February 23, 2011 8:31 PM

Answers

  • This site had been copied from another site collection using the AvePoint tools.  We found that there was a user in the site that was no longer with the company- that person had an alert set up on the list.  When we looked at the alerts, it showed an alert for the user like this "doe, John (SYSTEM)"  When we deleted that alert, no-one got the automated notifications any more.

    I don't understand it, but it fixed the problem.

    Thanks

     

    • Marked as answer by jj_the_Skeptic Friday, February 25, 2011 10:18 PM
    Friday, February 25, 2011 10:18 PM

All replies

  • Hi John,

    Please check Task List workflow settings.


    Regards, Pratik Vyas | SharePoint Consultant | http://sharepointpratik.blogspot.com/ http://sharepointpratik.wordpress.com/
    Thursday, February 24, 2011 10:12 AM
  • We do have a workflow assigned to this list, and that workflow sends a custom email under certain conditions - but the email we are getting is the default 'task assigned' email.  Is there some other workflow setting I should check?

    -John

    Thursday, February 24, 2011 6:00 PM
  • Hi John,

     

    Sometimes, If you make any changes in the workflow the option for sending the mail in task list is enabled automatically.

    So make sure its unchecked every time you make changes to the workflow.


    Thanks,
    Chanakya
    Friday, February 25, 2011 6:12 AM
  • The option is definately unchecked/not-enabled - In this case, it isn't getting turned back on by editing the workflow. (it's a SharePoint Designer workflow) - at least I haven't seen it getting turned by on by the workflow.
    Friday, February 25, 2011 3:28 PM
  • This site had been copied from another site collection using the AvePoint tools.  We found that there was a user in the site that was no longer with the company- that person had an alert set up on the list.  When we looked at the alerts, it showed an alert for the user like this "doe, John (SYSTEM)"  When we deleted that alert, no-one got the automated notifications any more.

    I don't understand it, but it fixed the problem.

    Thanks

     

    • Marked as answer by jj_the_Skeptic Friday, February 25, 2011 10:18 PM
    Friday, February 25, 2011 10:18 PM