PowerShell-How do I get Link Target for a shortcut? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Forum, 

I'm new with Powershell on Windows 10 and as exercise I like to produce a small script which
    should get "Link Target" for all shourtcut's in a folder in order for example to produce a playlist * .m3u. 

I can get all the filenames with [Get-Child Item-name] but how do I get "Link Target"?  

Thank you in advance for the Tips. 

Best Regards/Lars

Wednesday, August 30, 2017 11:49 AM

Answers

• Hi LarsKong,

You could try the following script, hope it is helpful to you:
    $WScript = New-Object -ComObject WScript.Shell
    Get-ChildItem -Path "D:\Folder\*.lnk" | ForEach-Object {$WScript.CreateShortcut($_.FullName).TargetPath} | Out-File -FilePath "D:\Folder\playlist.m3u"

If you need further help, please feel free to let us know.

Best Regards,
    Albert Ling

Please remember to mark the replies as an answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Thursday, August 31, 2017 2:47 AM

All replies

• Proposed as answer by subsum44 Wednesday, August 30, 2017 5:38 PM
    Wednesday, August 30, 2017 12:16 PM
  • Hi LarsKong,

You could try the following script, hope it is helpful to you:
    $WScript = New-Object -ComObject WScript.Shell
    Get-ChildItem -Path "D:\Folder\*.lnk" | ForEach-Object {$WScript.CreateShortcut($_.FullName).TargetPath} | Out-File -FilePath "D:\Folder\playlist.m3u"

If you need further help, please feel free to let us know.

Best Regards,
    Albert Ling

Please remember to mark the replies as an answers if they help and unmark them if they provide no help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

Thursday, August 31, 2017 2:47 AM
  • Hi,

Just checking in to see if the information provided was helpful. Please let us know if you would like further assistance.

Best Regards,
    Albert Ling