Virtual Lab licensing RRS feed

• Question

• Sorry if this isn’t the best place to post this but so far I have never received a reply from Microsoft about this.

What I would like to do is:

Run a virtual server laboratory and use it purely for study/learning/experience purposes as I am an IT professional and I constantly need to keep up to date with Microsoft’s products and technologies.

I would like to setup a virtual lab like what is discussed in this document:

https://mcp.microsoft.com/mcp/downloads/Virtual_Server_Article_1.doc

My concerns are:

Licensing and Activation

I understand I can purchase a TechNet subscription to get access to all the software I need but I am limited with the amount of activations which I believe I would quickly deplete in a Virtual Lab environment. My understating is Volume License is the solution to this problem but I believe this is not available to an individual?

It also sounds like the new activation and licensing for vista/server2008 is even more restrictive for what I intend to do.

Please let me know the best way to go about what I’m trying to I believe this could be very useful for IT pro’s like myself to develop the knowledge and experience to support and implement Microsoft products. I’m happy to pay a reasonable amount of money to do this but if I proceed I need to know licensing and activations wont limit its viability.

If anyone can help me Id really appreciate it!

David P (DPazza)

email: dpazza at yahoo dot com

Monday, July 23, 2007 3:14 AM

Answers

• Sorry for the delay!

So TechNet isnt unlimited amounts of licenses but definately enough for a decent lab. Heres an excerpt from the licensing page.

Products That Require Activation:
    If you do not see your product key listed and would like to request a replacement or new key then continue on this page by using the “Request Keys” button on this page.