none
Inactive Tasks RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    The company I work for has Project 2010 basic and is thinking of getting a copy of Project 2010 Professional. I have noticed in the Professional version that you can make a Task inactive. If I do this in an existing file and save it and then open it in the Professional version, how will it see this task? Will the file open ok?

    Monday, March 4, 2013 3:55 PM

Answers

  • kiwigael --
     
    I hate to correct my fellow MVP friend, but what I believe will happen when you set a task to Inactive in the Professional version and then someone else opens the project using the Standard version, I believe the user WILL see the task using the Standard version.  What he/she will see is a task whose name is grayed out and is formatted with the strikethrough font.  He/she will see a Gantt bar that is a hollow outline of the original schedule of the task prior to the other PM setting the task to Inactive status.  The big thing is that the Standard user WILL NOT be able to change the task from Inactive to Active.  The task will not disappear, as my fellow MVP stated.  Hope this clarification helps.
     

    Dale A. Howard [MVP]
    VP of Educational Services
    msProjectExperts
    http://www.msprojectexperts.com
    http://www.projectserverexperts.com
    "We write the books on Project Server"

    Monday, March 4, 2013 9:27 PM
    Moderator

All replies

  • You can open and close project schedules between standard and enterprise, however when you save inactive task in project pro enterprise and then open in project pro standard, the standard will not know what to do with the inactive and you will lose it.  Basically, functionality between the two versions are lost when you go backwards.

    cheers!


    Michael Wharton, MVP, MBA, PMP, MCT, MCTS, MCSD, MCSE+I, MCDBA
    Website http://www.WhartonComputer.com
    Blog http://MyProjectExpert.com contains my field notes and SQL queries

    Monday, March 4, 2013 4:10 PM
    Moderator
  • kiwigael --
     
    I hate to correct my fellow MVP friend, but what I believe will happen when you set a task to Inactive in the Professional version and then someone else opens the project using the Standard version, I believe the user WILL see the task using the Standard version.  What he/she will see is a task whose name is grayed out and is formatted with the strikethrough font.  He/she will see a Gantt bar that is a hollow outline of the original schedule of the task prior to the other PM setting the task to Inactive status.  The big thing is that the Standard user WILL NOT be able to change the task from Inactive to Active.  The task will not disappear, as my fellow MVP stated.  Hope this clarification helps.
     

    Dale A. Howard [MVP]
    VP of Educational Services
    msProjectExperts
    http://www.msprojectexperts.com
    http://www.projectserverexperts.com
    "We write the books on Project Server"

    Monday, March 4, 2013 9:27 PM
    Moderator
  • Thanks very much for your help

    Tuesday, March 5, 2013 1:15 PM
  • Thanks very much for your help
    Tuesday, March 5, 2013 1:16 PM
  • I'm with Dale on this one.  Tasks inactivated in Pro are still visible in Project Standard 2010.
    Tuesday, March 5, 2013 1:17 PM
    Moderator