Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit Quad Core Question RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there!

I have a Quad Core PC that had Windows XP on it and I did a clean install of Windows 7 64 bit.  I have installed all of the drivers (as far as I know), but when I did the Performance Test, all of my scores were fairly high except for the processor, which shocked me.

Processor:  3.7

Memory:  6.4

Graphics:  7.3

Gaming Graphics:  7.3

Hard Drive:  5.9

Here's my specs:

650 watt Corsair Power Supply

Foxconn A76ML-K Motherboard

AMD Phenom II Quad Core 945 Processor (unclocked)

4 GB G Skill RAM

ATI Radeon HD 4870 Series

1 TB Western Digital Hard Drive

In addition, on the Task Manager I only see one processor, but under Device Manager I see all 4.  Should I see 4 processors on the Task Manager, or is it just displaying the one quad core processor together?

I'm new at this so I appreciate your help!

David

Friday, July 16, 2010 8:45 PM

Answers

• Hi there Arthur,

I tried that as well, and it didn't work.  I'm not sure what I did, but I just decided to reinstall Windows 7 from the beginning, since I did not really have any programs on there from the previous install.  I then updated the bios immediately and then the video drivers and now everything works.

Thanks for everyones help!

David

Monday, July 19, 2010 1:36 PM

All replies

• Hi David,

I have the same CPU and I get a score of 7.3. Please update your BIOS to the most recent version and check the BIOS, that all cores are enabled. Now run the test again.

André

"A programmer is just a tool which converts caffeine into code" CLIP- Stellvertreter http://www.winvistaside.de/
    Friday, July 16, 2010 10:18 PM
  • Hi Andre,

I really appreciate the advice.  I have tried to do that, but maybe I just don't know what I'm doing.  I have tried to do a search online for the most recent version of the BIOS and coudn;'t really find anything... even on the Foxcomm site... or I just didn't know what to look for.