S4B Standard Edition deployement in a branch Site throught VPN Site-2-Site RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm currently studying the deployment of Skype For Business.In my case,

I have two sites A and B in two different countries. Let A be the main site.

Currently these two sites are linked together through a Site-2-Site VPN and each site has a firewall (TMG 2010).

My objectives:

Have Skype For Business on both sites with full functionality.

My constraints:

- Use Skype For Business Standard Edition.

- I would like to have a complete installation of skype for business Standard Edition in the branch site (no SBA and no SBS).

My questions:

1- Am I already on a good track?

2- Do the two Front End A and B servers have to be paired?

3- A single Edge server in the main site A can be used by the branch site B? (Just need a confirmation :))

4- Is it possible to bypass the VPN for SIP traffic in the branch B site?

It will be very cool if you can share some useful links for my scenario

Thank you!

Tuesday, July 4, 2017 12:21 PM

Answers

• 1 - Yes. But you might have an problem with VPN performance if users will communicate with each other between Site A and Site B. I think that you have domain controllers from the same Active Directory in both sites. The Front End servers in both sites can share SIP domain.

2- No. You not need to pair them. The pairing is for Disaster Recovery so if the Front End in Site A crashed all Site A users can be activated in Site B, so the pairing might not be a bad option.

3- Yes. It's no problem for Site B Front End servers to use Edge servers placed in Site A as long as firewall rules accept the communication.

4 - I'm not sure why you want to bypass the VPN for SIP traffic? SIP traffic to the Edge (internet) will go from clients in Site B thru VPN to Site A Edge.

• Marked as answer by SChniter Friday, July 14, 2017 10:19 AM
    Tuesday, July 4, 2017 1:18 PM

All replies