Script to pull filenames into CSV RRS feed

• Question

• Hey Guys,

I have been attempting to create a script that will pull files into a CSV.  This can be a rather large CSV file due to many files.

I am new to powershell, but know how to tinker around.. :)

Here are the details:

I have a network path that has subdirectories with files in them.  These files have somewhat of consistency.  e.g. "123456 lastname - A.pdf"  Sometimes they will have a character that seperates the number/name/letter at the end.  Sometimes the files have a (" ")  (".")  ("-").  Hope that makes sense...

Basically what I am looking for is a way to take the information from "each" file and put it into a CSV file.

I can get the information I need from the files using  "Get-ChildItem", but i am mainly struggling with seperating the file name information.

I need the above example file name to have seperate columns for the "numbers" "lastname" "letter"

Here is what i have so far:

Get-ChildItem -Path $path -File -Recurse | Select-Object BaseName,FullName,LastWriteTime |

All information is gathered with this string after an Export-CSV , i just dont know what to do about seperating the file names into seperate columns...

Thank you for all the help with this!

Thursday, November 2, 2017 8:33 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Based on your situation, I recommend that process file name through regular expression firstly. The following screenshot for your reference:

In addition, the following scripts for your reference, hope it is helpful to you:
    $path = '\\localhost\D$'
    $files = Get-ChildItem -Path $path -File -Recurse
    $info = foreach ($file in $files)
    {
        $columns = $file.BaseName -replace '\.',' '
        $columns = $columns -replace '\-',' '
        $columns = $columns -replace '\s{1,}',' '
        $columns = $columns -replace '\(\S*\)',''
        $columns = $columns -replace ' $',''
        $columns = $columns.Split(' ')