Simple UAG Deployment Behind a Front End Cisco Small Business Router RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

UAG newbie here. I've read through the documentation in the library for UAG and I'm still a little confused about how to setup my UAG infrastructure, specifically, how to set the IP addresses on the two interfaces in the UAG box.

Network Topology

Internet => (Public IP Assigned via DHCP) Cisco Firewall (192.168.1.1) => Internal network (192.168.1.0/24)

Currently all internal clients and servers use 192.168.1.1 as the default gateway. DNS servers are internal and forward all lookups that are not for my internal AD forest to my ISP's DNS servers.

Desired UAG Topology

As I said, pretty basic. I want to put my UAG box behind the Cisco device and use it to publish Exchange, a couple of web sites, etc. All I know for sure at the present is that I'd need to setup 2 port forwarding rules on my Cisco device, one for 80 and one for 443, both point to the UAG box. Note that while I'd like to also deploy DirectAccess, the two consecutive public, static IP addresses puts that out of my reach currently.

Assumptions

From my reading I think I understand the following:

1. UAG does not allow for outbound access for clients. IOW, I can't simply change the default gateway on my clients to point to the UAG box and be done with things.
    2. The internal and external interfaces on the UAG box need to be in different networks.

Questions

My real confusion here is how do I setup the networking on the UAG box, and internal clients and servers? If I want to keep on using 192.168.1.0/24 on my internal network then I can keep using 192.168.1.1 (internal interface IP of the Cisco device) as the default gateway and assign an IP address in that range to the "external" interface of the UAG box but then what do I do with the "internal" interface of the UAG box? If I assign it an address in a different network, how will it find the servers and apps I want to publish?