none
DPM 2012 Supports Dell TL2000 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello

Im new to DPM i just installed it by reading the technet articles.

We have some issues with DPM 2012 im using Dell Tape Library TL2000 i have deployed DPM 2012 Roll update 3 

I just need to know DPM 2012 supports TL2000 how to start the backup on tape 

Sunday, November 4, 2012 9:26 AM

All replies

• Hi,

You need to have proper driver installed. Look in Device manager and if the meduim changer says "unknown medium changer" then you need to get drivers.

I found these TL2000 drivers dated 10-31-2011 A096.2.1.5 on Dell web site:

http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/555/DriverDetails/DriverFileFormats?c=us&l=en&s=biz&cs=555&DriverId=R318494

However, historically you need to add this registry key to DPM Server when using IBM TS 35xx or Dell LT2000 libraries to address cleaner issues which may occur down the road.

"HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft Data Protection Manager\Agent
       RSMCompatMode:REG_DWORD:0x8

Note The RSMCompatMode registry value is used to specify multiple flags for DPM. The following are the flags that are set by this registry value:

• 1 = RSM_COMPAT_INIT_ELEMENT_STATUS
    • 4 = RSM_COMPAT_IGNORE_TAPE_INVENTORY_RESULT
    • 8 = RSM_COMPAT_CLEANER_EXCEPTION

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread. Regards, Mike J. [MSFT] This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

Sunday, November 4, 2012 1:29 PM
  • Hello Mike

I tried installing this drivers and also added the registry still i cannot see my tape slots in DPM 

Sunday, November 4, 2012 5:33 PM
  • Hi,

Device manager still cannot see the medium changer, until you fix that, DPM will not see the library.