none
Disable proxy without opening IE RRS feed

• Question

• I'm very new to coding/scripting. I've made a pretty simple batch script to swap between wifi and ethernet. Everything works properly, but I'm running into an issue with disabling my proxy. It's enabled by group policy at work for use with my ethernet connection. When I run my script to enable wifi, I need to have it also disable my proxy so it doesn't prevent me from getting to webpages. I'm able to disable it through the registry setting, but the change doesn't kick in until I open Internet Explorer. Is there any way I can disable it from my batch script without needing to open IE to have the change apply? Many thanks for anyone who can help.
    Friday, July 17, 2015 8:44 PM

Answers

All replies

• Put this in your batch script to disable proxy in IE:

reg add "HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings" /v ProxyEnable /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f

Friday, July 17, 2015 8:49 PM
  • Friday, July 17, 2015 8:50 PM
  • Not to be rude, but if you'd read my question in its entirety you would see that I've already tried this. It works, but the problem is that I don't want to have to open and close IE for the change to kick in.
    Monday, July 20, 2015 1:57 PM
  • netsh winhttp reset proxy doesn't work. I don't really know enough about this stuff to elaborate much, but it seems the netsh command is tied to some kind of different proxy settings. When my proxy is set through IE, the netsh command shows there is no proxy on and so it can't disable it.
    Monday, July 20, 2015 1:58 PM
  • Works fine for me. 

Perhaps you should post in the proper forum for your issue.  I was going to post this first but thought I would just give you the answer.  If you are have issues beyond that then you need to post in the correct forum.  I would post in the end user forum or in the networking forum.

\_(ツ)_/

Monday, July 20, 2015 2:02 PM
  • Monday, July 20, 2015 2:04 PM
  • Hi Collekt.