none
Installing DPM 2010 client on cluster servers RRS feed

• Question

• @!%#% forum software dumped my whole post that took me an hour to generate...   :-( 

I'm installing DPM 2010 agents on Windows Storage Server 2008 R2 cluster nodes.  Warning, I'm a DPM newb.

This is NOT a Hyper-V application and the volumes on the cluster are NOT CSVs, if I understand it right.  Only one node can access each volume.  Almost all of the DPM docs I can find that talk about "cluster-specific" stuff seem to be talking about CSVs.  http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff399265.aspx says when you install a client on a cluster node, it notifies you so you can "choose to" install the agent on the other cluster nodes as well, but it doesn't say the pros/cons of doing or not doing it.  That's about all I can find.

I just installed the agents on this 2-node cluster.  It never notified me it was a cluster.  The only time it noticed was when it asked if I wanted it to reboot the node after installing the agent.  If I said yes it said "Sorry, can't, it's a cluster."  Once the agents were installed, DPM could see them, and it knows they're in a cluster.  But I don't see anything different about working with clusters.

So, question: do I have to do anything special to protect non-CSV volumes on cluster nodes?  Or do I just have to install the agents on each node?  Do I have to install on all nodes, or only the nodes that mount the volumes I want to protect?