none
Using Playbooks Utility for Restore RRS feed

  • Question

  • When using this tool for restore from one 2010 server to another, what is the "strategy" to choose (restore or merge) to insure that all workflow settings come over?

     

    Tom H

    Friday, July 22, 2011 2:15 PM

Answers

  • I would say it works the same way as with any other custom fields etc., If you 'merge', you retain existing + add new ones, if you replace you basically overwrite everything that exists on the destination sever, with the backed up settings.

    I personally, like to use the merge option, if it is a running system. Although it creates more work, I like being able to go back, test the new settings that come over, and delete the ones I do not need.

    Oviously if you are starting with a brand new site, then, replace might be a good way to go.


    Prasanna Adavi, PMP, MCTS http://thinkepm.blogspot.com
    Friday, July 22, 2011 5:00 PM
    Moderator