Database performance is very poor after a month of use RRS feed

• Question

• Hi!

I am quite new to SQL server and have a question regarding database speed. The database (about 50 MB big) was very fast in the beginning. Now, a month later, the speed is a lot worse. I run a script every hour that updates specific fields in some tables (about 500 rows) and in the beginning the script took about 2 minutes and now it neary takes 28 minutes. I have restored an early copy of the database and when I run the script against the copy the performance is back with a runtime of 2 minutes so nothing is wrong with the server (sql server 2014). I have tried to run 'exec sp_updtestats' with no difference in performance and also tried to rebuild and reorganize the indexes with no luck... Someone friendly :) here that can help me with this big problem and how I can find what is wrong with the production database? it seems that the script gradually caused the decreased performance... :(

Best Regards Markus

Monday, October 20, 2014 1:24 PM

Answers

• Hi!

I have now found the problem thanks to SQL Profiler and your help :). It was caused by a bug in the script that used the built in functions in the ecommerce software to update products but it didn't reused the deliverydates why 545 deliverydates were added every hour and together with bad indexes on that table it slowed down the script and site a lot. I rewrote the script to use sql queries against the databas directly instead of the build in functions and the script now takes 6 seconds :)

What is a good Maintenance plan for the sql server? The databases are set to SIMPLE recovery model and are backed up every night so backup is not needed in this job. If I run the maintenance plan wizard, is it good to incude all these in the following order: 'Check database integiry', 'Shrink database', 'Reorganize Index', 'Rebuild Index', 'Update Statistics', 'Clean Up History', Maintenance Cleanup Task' for all user databases?

Skip somone?