none
Assign Outlook Tasks to Resources RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Project 2013 and I've started on the demo.  I can't seem to find out how to assign tasks to users in our AD via Exchange/Outlook that they can mark complete when done and that will show up in the project or in my tasks in Outlook.

All I can seem to find on this is the use of Sharepoint, which we aren't using.

Is there something I'm missing?

Wednesday, February 18, 2015 11:07 PM

Answers

All replies

• For your resources to be able to view and mark tasks complete from Outlook, you need to set up the Exchange Synchronization with SharePoint.

You keep seeing information about SharePoint because, that is what Project Server 2013 is based on, and is needed for this functionality to work.

Here are the steps to set up this Integration: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj554516.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

Here is how it will work: http://blogs.office.com/2012/09/17/tasks-integration-with-exchange/

In short, there is quite a bit of set up work that needs to happen before this will work.

BTW, if you are using Project Online, then you will need Exchange Online accounts, and the rest is taken care of by Microsoft, in terms of infrastructure setup.

Cheers,

Prasanna Adavi, Project MVP

Blog:   Podcast:    Twitter:    LinkedIn:   

Thursday, February 19, 2015 4:19 AM
  • That's what I thought you were going to say

if that's the case, would Thiswork for allowing me to assign tasks through Outlook, and would that mean we need to use Exchange online?

Thursday, February 19, 2015 4:44 AM
  • I am somewhat confused by your requirements.

a) If you have JUST Project 2013, then AFAIK, there is no way to directly integrate with AD/Outlook. There could be some Third Party Products like this one . If you have no need for Project Online or the server, this might be a better way to go.