none
Best practice Masterprojects RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all, 

I am quite new to MS Project and i was wondering if there is a maximum of loading subprojects into a master project. 

We have in our company different projects running at the same time and for reporting/ reviewing the general planning i want to use a master project. 

In short is there a maximum of subprojects to load in a master project? 

Is ms project stable enough to load online projects. 

Is it recommended to load the online project files in the masterproject? Is the performance still recommended?

Is there a best practice for handeling a lot of projects? ( Portfoliomanagement.) 

Hope to hear from you all  

Monday, January 6, 2020 2:26 PM

All replies

• Hi,

The short answer: master project is a standard feature of MS Project/Project Online. So it is definitely designed to handle a consequent number of subprojects. That being said, we would need to know more about your number and complexity of subprojects. Of course, if you have 5 subprojects you'll almost see no performance difference than with a single projects. With 50 subprojects, you might wait a few seconds for MS Project to open the master project. 

A couple of considerations: 

• As soon as you don't open the subproject clicking on the '+' sign in front of the line, MS Project won't access the subproject itself.
    • If the subprojects are very large projects with a lot of assignments and many resources, of course it will impact the loading and publishing time.

MS Project is stable enough, the question as said before is :"how many subprojects? how complex are they? how many depth level?".

No matter if you are in standalone mode with MS Project or connected to Project Online, the master projects work the same way. The only difference is that it will pick up the subprojects in Project Online DB instead of on your local drive.