Remote Computer could not be found? RRS feed

• Question

• I have setup a Web Access RemoteApp server on Server 2008 R2 and it is no longer letting anyone connect to apps or use remote desktop from the outside.  If I try to run any apps or try to RDP from the Web Access site it tries to launch but then I get a "The Remote Computer could not be found" error.  It was working earlier today, I was able to launch applications from home but it now gives me that error.

Setup is as follows:  All TS roles are installed on TSserver except the virtualization host since this is not a Hyper-V server.  All the consoles show no issues, I have everything pointing to TSserver.  I have an external site setup (remote.domain.com) and it is working.  I can get to the site fine, apps populate fine and overall there are no issues there.  If I go to the RemoteApp server internally I can launch applications and rdp without a problem.  It's just externally that they're not working.

I admit I'm new to all these new TS roles and just started setting this all up.  But I can't figure out why this was working earlier today and now is not.  The only changes I made were a redirect for IIS (so that users only have to type in remote.domain.com instead of https://remote.domain.com/rdweb) and I installed a new application (though a co-worker said he started getting that error before I installed that program).

What should I be looking at to resolve this?  The fact that it works internally and that I can get to the site externally makes me think it's some small setting I'm missing.  With so many different management consoles to look through it's a little difficult to pinpoint what's wrong. 

Wednesday, March 31, 2010 9:11 PM

Answers

• Ok, I got it.  It was the RD Gateway server setting.  I thought it needed to be the FQDN of the server.  I changed it to the external DNS name (remote.domain.com) and it's all working.