none
Major network redesign - need help - in over my head RRS feed

• Question

• Hey all,

I browse Technet all the time, I find it a great source of education. 

So I'm a new IT Professional less than 2 years experience and most of that experience was Help Desk level troubleshooting.  Network Connectivity, break-fix work, virus removal, etc.  I have been brought in on some intermediate to high skill level tasks as an assistant to a senior network technician.  I've learned alot and am eager to learn more. 

I have been hired at a great place to work and was given the title of System Administrator.  I have been assigned the task of spearheading our migration to the cloud.  Way above my pay grade.

We just purchased two other offices out of state.  1 is on a domain the other is not and in house we are on a domain. First order of business is to get us all on one domain and use the cloud server as our DC if possible.

If any of you fellow IT personnel out there have done something similar to this or have advice on what you feel is the best practice to approach this please enlighten me.  It would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Thursday, March 28, 2013 6:51 PM

Answers

• First order of business is to get us all on one domain and use the cloud server as our DC if possible.

What you want is a VPN connection between the "HQ" and the other locations.

This can be done by the ISP (If they all have the same). Or with for example Cisco VPN routers. This will put everything into the same network.

Also a great idea to add is a second DC in the branch-office.

• Edited by J. Dalstra Friday, March 29, 2013 6:11 PM
    • Marked as answer by Green_One Tuesday, April 2, 2013 1:35 PM
    Friday, March 29, 2013 6:10 PM

All replies

• First order of business is to get us all on one domain and use the cloud server as our DC if possible.

What you want is a VPN connection between the "HQ" and the other locations.