Files, system and documents back-up. RRS feed

• Question

• Greeting everyone,

As a technician, I have done numerous back-ups in the past with older version of Microsoft and Apple products. However recently, I have been tasked to create a back-up on a Windows 7 PC and to rid the PC of all files and documents once the back-up has been done on an external HDD.

when I begin to back-up, I noticed that there are things like "first back-up/start back-up now" and "back-up". From what I have learned, the user have no idea if he had done any back-up in the past.

So my quires are as followed:

- What is the difference between "first back-up/start back-up now" and "back-up"?

- Which one of the two should I initial, based on the above given scenario?

- If I were to initial the first, Should I click on "Back up now" to fully back-up the PC after the former is completed?

Hope someone would answer me as I am stuck with this issue as I speak.

Thanks and God Bless,

Dagpeter

• Edited by dagpeter Thursday, August 15, 2013 3:09 AM Edited for mistakes.
    Thursday, August 15, 2013 3:02 AM

Answers

• Good Evening,

I think it’s necessary to difference between File Backup and Image Backup. 

There is an Official FAQ for Backup feature in Windows 7 and I think you should review it first.

Back up and restore: frequently asked questions
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows7/Back-up-and-restore-frequently-asked-questions

If you would like to get a full backup of the whole system, you should use “Image Backup” (from Backup and Restore -> Create a system image) and make sure you have select all drives in “Which drives do you want to include in the backup” list. Windows 7 will create a backup folder with your computer name as it’s folder name and you can find a .vhd file inside. This vhd file is a full mirror copy and contains all file data and partition info so you can use this image backup to restore the whole system if necessary.