none
OData error RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone

I am new to powerBI and I wanted to connect it to my dynamics 365 instance. 

However, the following error keeps popping whenever I try to connect.

"Odata: the feed's metadata document appears to be invalid power BI and dynamics 365"

Can anyone help me regarding that ???

Regards 

Yasmeen Zada

Sunday, January 14, 2018 2:44 PM

Answers

All replies

• Hi Yasmeen. Where are you seeing this error? A screenshot would be helpful (although it may take a bit of time for the forum to allow you to post a screenshot).

Ehren

Wednesday, January 17, 2018 8:33 PM
    Owner
  • Same for us "DataSource.Error: OData: The feed's metadata document appears to be invalid.
    Details:
        DataSourceKind=OData
        DataSourcePath=https://*****prototype.crm4.dynamics.com/api/data/v8.2/$metadata"

we tried 8.0; 8.2; 9.0 with different new created vanilla trials for dynamics 365 online for sales. If we use the endpoint url in the browser, everything works fine. This article does not help, the extracted fetch i.e. works excelent. Newest version of PowerBI Desktop installed (2.55.5010.641 64-bit (Februar 2018)) Please help.

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 10:43 AM
  • Hello Stefan,

Since these are new instances, would you be able to share the contents of "
    https://*****prototype.crm4.dynamics.com/api/data/v8.0/$metadata" (adjusting accordingly for your instance name)?
    Tuesday, February 13, 2018 5:51 PM
  • I too am seeing this issue - i have raised a call with MS to look at it.  connecting via the PowerBI desktop app to any D365 instance on any version API results in the ODATA invalid error.
    Wednesday, February 14, 2018 9:18 AM
  • Hello. any news yet?

I'm facing the same error trying to connect to D365 through Excel Sheet.

:(

Sunday, February 25, 2018 10:42 PM
  • Hi all,

I am also experiencing this issue with a load of CRMs and cannot connect to any of them.

Is there any update or further information on this?