none
Site Problems + Unable to start ConfigMgr Service Manager

Question

• Hi I originally thought there was a client issue. Looking further into this it appears my ConfigMgr Site Server is having problems... what problems well i am hoping you can help me out with this. I am very new to SCCM so any advice is welcome

First off i noticed that when i did an update collection membership on one of my collections it is just sitting there with the hour glass. Tried creating a new collection and was able to select a machine manually however upon completion of the collection it showed no computers in it.

I then checked all the SCCM services were running in services.exe which they were. Tried viewing the ConfigMgr Service Manager and am getting the following error

"Error Communication with the specified ConfigMgr Site Server."

I have tried running a repair on the site but it does not appear to have doen anything. I am still trauling through the log files for more information but if anyone has any ideas i would appreciate it.

Cheers,
    Leechy
    Friday, January 02, 2009 3:32 AM

Answers

•  Hopefully this may help someone in the long run.

Basically i put a call into PSS and the guy helping me was unreal great support really knew his SCCM. we tried a bunch of things around the hman and sitectrl.ct0 etc but nothing worked. Then by pure luck i noticed in the event viewer which i had not seen before a informational alert (which is stupid) saying that SCCM has expired as the trial software we had used was finished. Now most of you are probably thinking i should have known this but there were only a couple of alerts in the event viewer and i was looking for errors not information. The other thing is we got no popups like it says we should (could be because i don't log on as console it's all mstsc). The other thing is one of the other guys did the install and everything else in our environment is VLK :/