none
Combining frames into TCP packets RRS feed

• Question

• I'm looking to capture TCP packets (segments), as sent by the standard send() API.  Since these packets may be larger than 1500 bytes, they are broken up into multiple Ethernet frames.  In Network Monitor's Frame Summary window, I'm seeing frames such has:

36  ...  TLS:TLS Rec Layer ...

37 ...   TCP:[Continuation to #36] ...

38 ...   TCP:[Continuation to #36] ...

This example is a TLS protocol record larger than 1500 bytes and sent over TCP.  Network Monitor parses frame #36 as a TLS record, but misses the continuation of this record in frames #37 and #38.  Is there a way to combine all of these frames into a single TLS record and have Network Monitor parse the whole thing?

Please excuse this question if it's elementary, but I'm just getting started with Network Monitor and see no obvious solution to this in the documentation.  Thanks for any help.

:-( + :-) = :-) :-)

Friday, October 12, 2012 11:14 AM

Answers

• Hi Paul,

Once you've saved and loaded the capture in Network Monitor, click on the Reassemble button in the top toolbar.  This will open a new window which will contain a trace that has these messages already combined.  You can filter on 'PayloadHeader' to see all these reassembled packets.

Your other option is to try our Message Analyzer Beta (available on our Connect site here) which will automatically reassemble the messages when loading.

Thanks,

Michael Hawker | Program Manager | Network Monitor

Friday, October 12, 2012 8:39 PM

All replies

• Hi Paul,

Once you've saved and loaded the capture in Network Monitor, click on the Reassemble button in the top toolbar.  This will open a new window which will contain a trace that has these messages already combined.  You can filter on 'PayloadHeader' to see all these reassembled packets.