Vista and "What U Hear" Problems RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, there!

I'm fairly new to Vista and laptops, so now that I have a laptop with Vista for school, I'm a little confused! I've been using a software called Audacity for years that helps me do all necessary recording; however, my experience lies in working with it using Windows XP. Now that I have Audacity dowloaded on Vista, I can't get any of my former available recording options to work - I can only record using the computer's microphone. Before, I favored a function called "What U Hear," allowing me to record what the computer was playing as part of a project. I've researched answers to this, but I always reach a dead end, and was advised to contact the distributors of Conexant, my audio system, for a possible solution. I appreciate any advice concerning this issue! Thanks!
    Sunday, July 12, 2009 9:20 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Thanks for posting in Microsoft TechNet Forum.

Since you can record using the computer's microphone, this issue is mainly due to Audacity. Regarding that this issue is specific, I would like to propose some general suggestions here. If the issue persists, I may also need to suggest that you contact Audacity for support. Based on my research, you can post your questions in the following forum.

Audacity Forum

http://forum.audacityteam.org/viewforum.php?f=12&sid=cc2646e00531945473798295210ea26e

Note: we provide this link for references, Microsoft doesn't control and guarantee the security and information in this website. There might be some changes without notice.

To move on, I suggest that you download the latest edition of Windows Vista compatible Audacity to install. You can obtain it from the following website.

Download Audacity

http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/windows

Note: we provide this link for references, Microsoft doesn't control and gurantee the security and information in this website. There might be some changes without notice.

Hope this helps. Thanks.