Enable IMAP on Exchange 2010 RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I've been reviewing related topics on different forums, but cannot seem to find the answer to what I am trying to do. 

I'm running Exchange Server 2010 Standard and I need to enable the IMAP service to work with a Help Desk application we are evaluating. 

We have IMAP4 and POP3 already running, but I cannot find where I enable IMAP as I'm still fairly new to 2010 and came from a 2003 environment. 

Can someone point me to an article I can refer to or let me know how I can do this? 

Thanks!

Wednesday, August 1, 2012 6:24 PM

Answers

• Hi

Exchange can support IMAP, IMAPS, POP3 and POP3S so none of these are a problem.  You are trying to send mail though which does not use any of these protocols - you send over port 25 SMTP.

Depending on where the email needs to go to (internal/external) you either have a receive connector that accepts mail from anonymous senders (your app to internal) or one that allows relaying from anonymous (if you app sends externally).

This is a really good guide on how to configure relaying: http://exchangepedia.com/2007/01/exchange-server-2007-how-to-allow-relaying.html

Steve

• Proposed as answer by Dave Stork Monday, August 6, 2012 8:38 AM
    • Marked as answer by cara chen Tuesday, August 28, 2012 9:15 AM
    Monday, August 6, 2012 8:29 AM

All replies

• Wednesday, August 1, 2012 6:27 PM
  • Hi Steve,

Thanks for the suggestion, but that is to enable IMAP4. I already have that running and need IMAP.

Wednesday, August 1, 2012 6:29 PM
  • imap4 should work, have tested tbis, beside imap4 is supported. imap is legacy.

Sukh

Wednesday, August 1, 2012 6:56 PM
  • Hi Steve,

Thanks for the suggestion, but that is to enable IMAP4. I already have that running and need IMAP.

IMAP4 *is* IMAP.  Not sure what you mean that you need IMAP. NO one ever used the original IMAP and IMAP2 is 20 years ago

Wednesday, August 1, 2012 7:00 PM