none
Advice needed - New IT Manager RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello, I have recently started a new job as IT manager for a small company that is planning to grow from 25 users to 100+ within the next year. I have only had 4 years experience in my old job looking after around 20+ 5 user companies all running Small Business Server 2003.

I am looking for advice as to what things I should do/expect as I’m moving from a break/fix job to one where I will have the time to properly maintain and manage a network as it grows.

They currently use Small Business Server 2003 which I know has a 75 user limit, should I migrate now to separate Server and Exchange servers or wait till I hit the limit?

What do other people recommend as good management/monitoring tools? I have looked at and considered Spiceworks (www.spiceworks.com) but have no experience with it.

Any other useful software that people recommend?

Thanks in advance

• Changed type Kevin Remde Monday, May 31, 2010 12:26 PM An ask for "advice" is not a question, but can have many more than one answer.
    Tuesday, June 9, 2009 8:29 PM

All replies

• Hello,

depending on the future needs you can move to Essential Business server, it supports up to 300 users/computers. It includes Management and monitoring.

http://www.microsoft.com/ebs/en/us/default.aspx

For upgrading and additional questions i suggest you use:
    https://connect.microsoft.com/ebs08/community/discussion/richui/default.aspx

or when changing from SBS to "normal" server version:
    https://connect.microsoft.com/sbs08/community/discussion/richui/default.aspx

Best regards Meinolf Weber Disclaimer: This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
    Thursday, June 11, 2009 9:03 PM