none
How to keep SBS 2011 from changing MX record

Question

• Hi there,

I have just set up a new SBS 2011 box, so I am pretty new at this. The domain is hosted at godaddy, our internet is with verizon business, but with dynamic IP address. Everything works like a charm, except that I'd prefer a little less spam in my emails. So I looked for cheap or free spam protection and picked mxguarddog.com for a test. Set up an account there, configured everything and finally changed my MX record to the mxguarddog servers. They should trash the spam and send the good emails to my exchange server. So far so good.

Waited for the MX record changes to show some effects. After a while I realized it didn't work. Double checked the configuration and found the MX records changed back to remote.mydomain.com. Changed it again to the mxguarddog servers, but again it lasted just minutes. Now I suspect my SBS box not to just update our dynamic IP address every couple of minutes, but also to change the MX records back to itself.

Can anyone confirm that behavior? If so, is there a way to teach SBS to leave the MX records unchanged? Or maybe have it enter the mxguarddog servers instead? Unfortunately I can't simply cut it off from godaddy, since it has to update the IP address... If this is not possible, I probably have to get a static IP...

Any help is appreciated ;-)

• Edited by Thomas Renn Monday, December 10, 2012 2:24 AM
    Sunday, December 09, 2012 8:48 PM

Answers

• Ok so looking at the way this seems to work- it queries for your external IP, then based on that takes your 'rwa prefix' ie. remote. and just creates all of the required records.

A, MX, SRV etc all of which point to remote.domain.com - so i dont think there is any way to selectivley say - do not create an MX record - however i have asked the SBS Dev team.